PC Gaming

Reviewing My Steam Library: G, H, J, and L

I’ve been a Steam user since the service first launched as a means to digitally download Half-Life 2. And I’ve been in love ever since. With its great deals, its ease of purchase, and its status as my number one platform for all things gaming, my Steam library has ballooned up over the years. This is an attempt to write one sentence on every game (currently) residing in my Steam library.

  • Gish: ‘0.2 hrs on record’: Yeah, sounds about right.
  • Gotham City Impostors: I remember thinking: I want a Call of Duty FPS that isn’t Call of Duty, to which GCI looked plausible, but ended up being unremarkable.
  • Gothic 3: A brilliant example of where a series’s reputation and most vocal fans sell you on what you would have to be a Mother to love.
  • Gothic II: Gold Edition: See above, only add a layer of dust and age.
  • Grand Theft Auto IV: As with most GTA games, I loved it until half way through and thirty hours in, I got too bored to turn it on again.
  • Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City: I love Steam bundles!
  • Gratuitous Space Battles: I forgot I owned this, so I guess it is time to install it.
  • Greed Corp: I thought this looked good, so I downloaded a demo for it on Xbox Live which sucked, but that doesn’t explain how I ended up owning it on Steam.
  • Guild Wars: Trilogy: I played at release but hated not being able to jump, yet at the height of my Guild Wars 2 hype, I still thought it might be worth giving a real go – it really wasn’t.
  • Guns of Icarus Online: The first game I ever Kickstarted, but I won’t say any more since I am an investor!
  • Half-Life: Without a doubt, one of the greatest games of all time.
  • Half-Life 2: Without a doubt, one of the greatest games of all time and the clear best sequel ever.
  • Half Minute Hero: Super Mega Neo Climax Ultimate Boy: Super fast, super funny, and super forgettable.
  • Hammerfight: Never before has a game made you spin your mouse around and around, and hopefully never again.
  • Hard Reset: Steam’s Christmas 2011 sale strikes again with another purchase just for a chance at winning something good.
  • Hero Academy: I bought it last Christmas, but haven’t gotten into it yet.
  • Home: I thought this was called Lone Survivor?
  • Hotline Miami: I can’t play before the acid-washed horror show begins to disturb me with its casual ultraviolence i.e. it is very cool.
  • Jamestown: The letter ‘J’ could not be better represented by a better single game than this amazing shmup.
  • L.A. Noire: While I loved the graphics and the unique-as-far-as-games go setting, the gameplay was a little weak and I forgot to keep playing.
  • Left 4 Dead 2: Very fun and addicting game, but only with friends.
  • Legend of Grimrock: I never played any of Grimrock’s predecessors, which is a shame because Grimrock at least is really neat.
  • LEGO Batman: The Videogame: I bought because I really loved Lego Harry Potter: Years 1 – 4 and enjoy Batman.
  • LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7: It doesn’t seem very different from the first one, but I don’t like it nearly as much.
  • Limbo: Beautiful aesthetics and gripping atmosphere wrapped around old and dated gameplay.
  • Lone Survivor: I thought this was called Home?
3 thoughts on “Reviewing My Steam Library: G, H, J, and L

  1. Gish: I lol’d. The game has the worst control scheme ever conceived, and combined with the fact that losing all your lives means that you’ve gotta start from the beginning, it’s clear I will never finish or even play this game again.

    Jamestown: I like it, but like all bullet hell schmups, it’s damn hard. Don’t like how you have to beat previous levels on higher difficulties in order to progress the story.

    L.A. Noire: I wanted to play this one with my sisters, who have been enjoying the cinematic experience in Alan Wake, but the game’s ESRB page scared me away. I feel like examining naked corpses with them would be awkward.

    Limbo: One of my favourite artistic styles of any game, but the gameplay is so boring compared to its close contemporaries like Braid and Bastion. Still, it’s depressing as hell, which earns it points from me.

Leave a Reply

