Editorials & Opinion / PC Gaming / Xbox 360

It was indeed an obvious miss.

It was indeed an obvious miss. But it wasn’t despite the game being solid, nor indeed was it the audience’s failure to understand the game. Lordy. The notion that the games contain even a quarter-teaspoonful of “combat authenticity” is instantly ludicrous. Unless combat is usually fought by one man spraying bullets over a large live-action target practice zone for infinity, until he realises he was supposed to step forward to make the nearby building fall over. I’ve not been in the army, I admit, but I’ve a sneaking suspicion that it’s not quite like that.

Here’s a quote I quite liked about the news that Medal of Honor is no more (again). You can read the rest of the article on Rock, Paper, Shotgun.

And while I agree with the article, I am still not too sad to see Medal of Honor leave us. I loved Allied Assault and Pacific Assault as a kid, but nothing else since has even begun to scratch the surface of potential interest or penetrate deep down into the curious parts of my brain.

One bad military shooter down, one more to go!

5 thoughts on “It was indeed an obvious miss.

  1. I’m not that into FPSes anyway, but for me Medal of Honor instantly brings to mind the last console generation and older games, and I can’t help but wonder if the psychology of the name might be a part of the reason it failed. I think they would have been better off going with an entirely new brand, rather than trying to pump life into an old one.

    • That’s not a bad argument. I think the issue, for me, is not so much that it is for older gamers, but that it instead did nothing to really separate it from the notion of being a cash in copy of Call of Duty.

  2. The reason everyone remembers Allied Assault is because it had the minds and talent that would later go on to create the outstanding Call of Duty series. Its going to be very interesting to see what those leads do next since they departed Activisions pockets.

Leave a Reply

