Miscellaneous / Other Games / PC Gaming / Xbox 360

Of Steam Trades, Legendary Leagues, Trying Not to Starve, Fictional Sports, and Twitter

Lately, I’ve had very few ideas for posts, at least for ones that were not spiteful, boring, or forced. Instead of my typical, focused posts on a particular subject, this one will just be a meandering personal update on what I have been up to lately.

In the absence of any MMO I really want to play, I resorted to re-downloading League of Legends for the millionth time to fill my fantasy co-operative/competitive void. After Riot’s recent banning of several high level players for an absolute commitment to being community cancers, I thought Riot deserved some of my respect in return. Most of the changes since playing last year have been interesting thus far. The new UI is no worse, but Masteries and Items seem more interesting. As a career Support player, I particularly like the new multiple charge Ward item.

Still, in my one game back, I covered all of the typical trappings of what makes League more of a chore than the great, fun game it should be. My lane partner was overly aggressive, but blamed me. When one member of our team failed to show up at a pivotal team fight, the best player on our team launched into a hateful, angry tirade. The offending players response, of course, was a stream of ‘you mads?’ The game only going further downhill from there, so that by the time we faced either certain defeat or a long and drawn out shot at victory, people refused to surrender.

I am not a good player and I do stick too closely to my familiar trappings of playing support, but if any of you want to carry me or help me get better or just keep me from playing with one more guaranteed asshole, I would be much obliged. My name is ‘Mr Hoot Hoot’ if you would like to add me.

I would love an MMO to play instead of League, but Guild Wars 2 holds no allure for me and the thoughts of returning to Warcraft or Everquest or DC Universe all seem more painful than pleasurable. I want to try The Secret World now that it has dropped the monthly subscription (having mostly enjoyed my brief time in the beta for the game). Yet, $30 dollars is a lot for me to spend right now with so little guarantee that I will get my money’s worth. If anyone out there is interested, I would love to trade Civilization V, Don’t Starve, and upwards of $10 dollars of Steam credit for the game. I have yet to post this trade proposition on the Steam Trade forums; I am still waiting on my account to be approved.

Speaking of Don’t Starve, I had bought into the beta recently after a review I read on Counter Attack. Overall, I definitely like it, but I do wish it had more of the building and exploring of Minecraft, better combat like Terraria, or a more significant horror element like Amnesia. While I do believe it is worth a try and can be fairly addicting, I will have to wait for more updates before I really say its a game worthy of a long term commitment.

Finally, my other great addiction lately has been Halo 4’s multiplayer. I would play it more often, except my Belkin wireless router really can’t stand staying connected to Xbox Live for long periods of time. I have tried everything to fix it, but to no avail. I suppose I will have to break down and buy a new one.

But when it does work, Halo 4 is still an absolute blast. Last weeks Community Forge Playlist was an exciting look at many community-made Forge maps, most of which I hope get implemented into normal play. Though I do prefer the modding communities of PC gaming, it is nice that Halo 4 has a loose equivalent that does get support from the game’s developer, 343.

More exciting though is this weeks addition of Grifball. If you are unfamiliar, Grifball is the Halo multiplayer universe’s answer to sports, and plays like a variation of hockey where pucks are bombs and sticks are giant, deadly hammers. It is simple but a real blast, and I am glad to finally have it in Halo 4 as a permanent playlist. I would really love to find a team for the Grifball league over at Grifball Hub. If anyone knows a team that is looking, forward them to ‘The Murfin Man‘. I will be playing nothing but Grifball all week.

Finally, I am trying to be more active on Twitter. If you are one of the regular blogs I read and comment on or if you think I will love your tweets, leave your handle in the comments and I’ll be sure to follow you. You can follow me, as well, if you like.

As always, thanks for reading and have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Of Steam Trades, Legendary Leagues, Trying Not to Starve, Fictional Sports, and Twitter

  1. Sounds like you’ve been enjoying yourself anyway! Like you, I get squeamish at the thought of going back to GW2 or WoW at the moment. I wonder about TERA when it goes free, but I feel it won’t offer much for very long. Like you, I’m not willing to pony up actual cash for The Secret World, especially since I tend to be bad at puzzles. I love story and good writing, just not complex puzzles. In a way I’m getting some interactions with other people about games through social media at the moment, so my itch for an MMO has subsided somewhat.

    I too am a Twitterer, and I shall add you, and you me I hope! You can find me at @ExpChain. It all gets very addictive after a while, sometimes Twitter eats into my gaming time if I let it!

Leave a Reply

