PC Gaming

Reviewing My Steam Library: A is for Adventure

I’ve been a Steam user since the service first launched as a means to digitally download Half-Life 2. And I’ve been in love ever since. With its great deals, its ease of purchase, and its status as my number one platform for all things gaming, my Steam library has ballooned up over the years. This is an attempt to write one sentence on every game (currently) residing in my Steam library.

  • Aion: I made it about 30 levels at launch before the grinding killed any interest I might have in continuing … ever.
  • Alan Wake: Bought it on a sale because it looked really awesome – haven’t booted it up once.
  • Alan Wake’s American Nightmare: Who can resist a cheap bundle?
  • Aliens versus Predator Classic 2000: I remember loving this as a kid, so when I bought it recently to re-explore a classic and got stuck in the first 5 minutes, I sadly uninstalled it.
  • Alpha Protocol: A weak shooter with a boring story that is almost carried into being a B+ game on the back of its really, really, really incredible approach to dialogue.
  • Amnesia: The Dark Descent: If you thought DOOM 3 was scary, this will probably give you an actual heart attack.
  • And Yet It Moves: I bought it for Steam last Christmas because I had an addiction to getting coal and/or tickets.
  • Anomaly Warzone Earth: Great little Tower Defense-esque game to pick up and play through.
  • ARMA 2: I bought this for Day Z like everyone else this summer.
  • ARMA 2: Operation Arrowhead: See ARMA 2.
  • Atom Zombie Smasher: One of my favorite indie PC games of all time due to its addictive, replayable gameplay and aesthetic charm (which is saying a lot given its all maps and menus).
  • Audiosurf: There is probably a correlation between ‘how long you’ve been a Steam user’ and ‘you bought Audiosurf’; either way, this is a great way of listening to music.
  • Awesomenauts: The theme song hooked me, but the 2D-DOTA-like gameplay kept me listening to it.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Reviewing My Steam Library: A is for Adventure

  1. The AvP2000 comment struck a chord. My Steam collection is filled with games that either:

    a) I enjoyed once and have repurchased for nostalgia reasons, possibly installing only to find that they no longer live up to the memories and/or hardly function on a modern OS

    b) I know to be ‘classics’ of their time so I bought them in a sale, only to find that they held my attention for <30 mins.

  2. Haha! I am exactly the same with Alan Wake. I can’t believe a game I was waiting years for is finally sitting in my Steam account, and I’ve yet to even play it. When did it lose it’s excitement-generating ability?

    • Alan Wake is one of my favorite games this generation, you both should check it out. If you are remotely interested in shows such as Twin Peaks or the writings of Stephen King, it should be a game you will enjoy. And if not, hopefully its story and setting with still strike a chord.
      The pseudo spin-off/sequel American Nightmare is also a solid little game, but its tone and gameplay is considerably different from the first; although the villain is really great.

      • Yeah, I do intend on playing it eventually. I almost bought it off sale for a lot more before deciding to wait.

        Games haven’t gotten so much cheaper and easier to purchase (digitally) that they are a lot closer to how I treat used books. Buy them and hope to read later!

Leave a Reply

