Editorials & Opinion

Why hasn’t Tarsem Singh made a video game yet?

I won’t blame you if you missed Immortals.  Despite the amazing Singh visuals, the plot and acting were all forgettable.  I won’t even blame you if you missed Mirror, Mirror given that its largely a kid’s movie.  But damn do the costumes in that movie do more to distinguish and develop characters than 10 minutes of campy dialogue could ever achieve. I will, however, judge and hate you forever if you either missed The Fall or didn’t like it:

The Fall is the first movie of Singh’s I ever saw.  Sure, I saw The Cell when I was younger, but it didn’t have quite the same impact on my then undeveloped mind.  The Fall held me from trailer till credits and then again until I bought the movie on DVD.  It had that perfect blend of drama, depth, character, sweetness, and adventure, all wrapped up in an absolutely beautiful package.  Singh’s signature is the spectacles that he brings to the big screen, and despite lacking more often than not in other key areas, his movies are all worth watching for the visual alone.

And that’s why I think he needs to head up a video game.  Look at this action scene from his 2011 movie, Immortals, and tell me with a straight face that he would not fit right in with today’s action games:

Sure, it is bullet time and gore with a dude wearing something with absolutely no practical sense.  That’s an easy translation, but the entire movie (and all his movies for that matter) have such a delicate grace that the gore isn’t the sensational focus, but instead just an accent of red by a skilled painter.

It isn’t even about the action of this particular scene though.  Singh is excellent at drawing you into the scene with his visual talents and knack for imagery.  These moments are important to games, as well.  Despite being one of my least favorite Final Fantasy games, FFVIII’s scene where Squall waltzes clumsily with Rinoa is still one of my all time favorite scenes in a game.  It does nothing to move the time traveling, evil sorceresses plot line, but it is the first moment in that game where I am drawn into the character’s. This scene from The Fall is one my absolute favorite’s of the movie, and I believe could very easily translate into most any RPG:

I would love to see someone with Tarsem Singh’s talents do a video game.  His visual style and knack for keeping the viewer interested in not just the story or actors, but the world, setting, and scenery, of every shot, would all be welcome in the realm of video games.

 

Leave a Reply

